Get started What's new Recommend a business you love Help

Behind the Blues Lecture 1: With Dr. Les Gray

Thursday, March 4 at 8:00 PM

$1 - $25
Online tickets not available

Thursday, March 4 at 8PM

Behind the Blues Lecture 1: With Dr. Les Gray

Online

$1 - $25
Online tickets not available
New date!

Join us for an online lecture with Dr. Les Gray, about where our current concept of race comes from.

8-9pm ET | 7-8pm CT | 6-7pm MT | 5-6pm PT | 9-10am (Friday) Hong Kong

This lecture is the first in a series of refreshers on Blues history, context, & culture, to help us better understand the blues genre and respectfully participate in the art form.

Dr. Gray’s primary research area focuses on Black cultural production and its relationship to trauma and terror. They approach framed and unframed events ranging from plays and blues dancing to police brutality videos through the lens of performance. Dr. Gray considers performances of spectacular Black pain as well as considering the potential for joy, healing, and solidarity. While they pursue scholarship deeply invested in what it means to be ethical cultural producers, Dr. Gray’s work and theory is continually underscored by embodied knowledge and highlighting representations of intersectional identities which include race, sexuality class, disability, and gender. Their work is embedded in and indebted to Black radical feminism, queer theory, and disability studies. Dr. Gray is a dramaturg, collaborator, writer, and occasional performer.
Full bio: https://theatre.missouri.edu/people/gray

Your donation funds this and future lectures in the series. The suggested donation is $5-25, but you can donate more or less (including $0 if that's what's doable for you). If you do donate, heads-up that there's a ~10% processing fee on this platform as well.

This event is brought to you by the Blues and Jazz Dance Book Club, Blues Union, Bluetopia, Powerhouse Blues, Terminus Blues Dance, Wilkerson Blues Dance, Fireside, BluesPort HK, and other blues dance organizations.
Share with friends link
Support Blues Union
Become a member and receive insider benefits
Learn more