Get started Discover businesses Case studies Pricing Help

Behind the Blues Lecture 2 with Dr. Matthew Morrison

Thursday, April 15 at 8:00 PM

$1 - $25
Online tickets not available

Thursday, April 15 at 8PM

Behind the Blues Lecture 2 with Dr. Matthew Morrison

Online

$1 - $25
Online tickets not available
Join us for another lecture session, this time with Dr. Matthew Morrison, on "The politics of enjoyment and pleasure: Appropriation and Exploitation."

8-9pm ET | 7-8pm CT | 6-7pm MT | 5-6pm PT | 8-9am (Friday) Hong Kong

This is the second in a series of refreshers on Blues history, context, & culture, to help us better understand the blues genre and to inspect how we participate in this art form.

Matthew D. Morrison, a native of Charlotte, North Carolina, is an Assistant Professor in the Clive Davis Institute of Recorded Music at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. Matthew holds a Ph.D. in Musicology from Columbia University, an. M.A. in Musicology from The Catholic University of America, and was a Presidential music scholar at Morehouse College, where he studied violin and conducting. His research focuses on the relationship between (racial) identity, performance, property, copyright law, and inequities within the history of American popular music and beyond. https://tisch.nyu.edu/about/directory/clive-davis-institute/918859097

Your donation funds this and future lectures in the series. The suggested donation is $5-25, but you can donate more or less (including $0 if that's what's doable for you). If you do donate, heads-up that there's a ~10% processing fee on this platform as well.

This event is brought to you by the Blues and Jazz Dance Book Club, Blues Union, Bluetopia, Powerhouse Blues, Terminus Blues Dance, Wilkerson Blues Dance, Fireside, BluesPort HK, and other blues dance organizations.
Withfriends believes in building financial resilience for small businesses.
Learn more
Share with friends link
Support Blues Union
Become a member and receive insider benefits
Learn more